Wedding Anonymous: Viva Forever!

                                                                            credit: http://www.trans4mind.com

It’s been exactly 80 days since our Big Day. Mr. P and I are slowly settling in to married life. I have nothing more to share about our wedding plans and details. It’s time to move on from our wedding day. And so, I’m writing this as the last post for the Wedding Anonymous blog.

Mr. P and I planned our wedding in secret so I didn’t have the freedom to share the wedding details to a lot of people. Writing here has been therapeutic. I treated this blog as a silent friend who’d listen to whatever I wanted to say without getting tired of my nonstop wedding blabber. My hope is that future brides may find something helpful from the blabbering here.

If there’s one last thing I’d say to future brides, it is: Enjoy the wedding but don’t forget the marriage. The wedding day is only a tiny part of your lifetime together. Have fun planning it. Indulge a little. Live for that day, But don’t overlook the days and years after that one magical moment. As you prepare for the big day, don’t forget to prepare your pocket, your lifestyle and your heart. After the wedding, it’s time to embrace another person’s lifetime presence in your life.

Let me end this with my favorite poem on marriage from Khalil Gibran:

On Marriage
 Kahlil Gibran

You were born together, and together you shall be forevermore.
You shall be together when the white wings of death scatter your days.
Ay, you shall be together even in the silent memory of God.
But let there be spaces in your togetherness,
And let the winds of the heavens dance between you.

Love one another, but make not a bond of love:
Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.
Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.
Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf
Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone,
Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.

Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.
For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.
And stand together yet not too near together:
For the pillars of the temple stand apart,
And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

2 thoughts on “Wedding Anonymous: Viva Forever!

  1. I read your favorite poem im so glad i finaly found the copy of it. This is what my favorite uncle thought me and my husband during his speech on my wedding day i cried because its so beautiful, my uncle now in heaven will surely be happy that i found this poem and reminding me for some advices i can use for having a more joyous marriage not so near yet not so far to let each other grow. Sabi din nya kung and bahay nga may poste na may sapat na layo sa isat isa para maitayo ang isang tahanan. Again thank you soo much for sharing your favorite poem 🙂

    Like

    • Hello!

      I’m glad you liked it. Yes, this poem is really full of wisdom. I also like the analog of pillars to have a joyous marriage. Anyway, I hope you and your husband are doing well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

