How God Gave Me Bridal Showers

      credit: http://www.livehappy.com

About this time last year, most of my closest friends in Japan left. Hence, I didn’t expect to be given any bridal shower here. But God has a way of surprising us. As of this writing, I’ve already had 5 bridal showers/pre-wedding parties with one more later.

A Japanese couple prepared a pre-wedding dinner for me on the first Saturday of July. The Japanese are not familiar with bridal showers so we just had a simple dinner. They also gave me and Mr. P our first ever wedding gift. (We haven’t opened it yet.)

The following week, 2 British friends and 2 Filipino friends had a pre-wedding celebration at my favorite Italian restaurant. We also went to karaoke. It wasn’t a typical “bridal shower,” but my friends know how much I love karaoke so I definitely enjoyed the night.

Then last Saturday, 2 ladies surprised me with a very intimate bridal shower. I thought we’re just going to have a pizza night but when I arrived at my friend’s place, her apartment was complete with all the trappings of a party. There was pizza but there were other food too. We had games even if there were only 3 of us. They also gave me the cutest gift- wedding mugs and angel candles.

Last Sunday, the Pastor’s wife in my church prepared some snacks after the service so people can stay and “celebrate” with me. During the service, the Pastor also called me and prayed for me.

The following day, Monday, was a holiday and the sweet old ladies prepared a pre-wedding lunch for me. They treated me to a restaurant, had some trivia games and gave their gifts, They were really sweet esp. knowing that they’re so much older than me. I don’t even spend so much time with most of them.

Then tonight, my students in the Business English course I’m teaching prepared a pre-wedding dinner for me. What makes this even more special is these three students are men. I wouldn’t expect a pre-wedding something from men. But they’re so thoughtful like that.

Although I wasn’t expecting any pre-wedding party in Japan, I silently wished to have at least one. I’ve spent 3 years of my life here and I was hoping that somebody would wish me well on my wedding. Before July, I accepted that maybe no one is interested enough in my life. But God is so good, He knows my silent wishes. He blessed me with people to celebrate with me as I enter a new chapter of my life.

I’ve never felt loved here than I am now.

Leave a Reply

